

Halifax County Schools Honors Educators

On May 5, 2022, Halifax County Schools held its Educators Celebration. The mission of the Educators Celebration is to honor, promote, and celebrate excellence in the teaching profession. The program values the contributions of classroom teachers, who help Halifax County Schools scholars flourish. Teacher quality and effectiveness are the most important school-based factors impacting student learning as well as principal guidance.

"Congratulations to our Principal of the Year and Teachers of the Year. You represent the great educators of Halifax County Schools, who inspire, lead, and support our children every day. These individuals will help us lead forward as we drive accelerated achievement for all students to eliminate the achievement gap and low performing schools", said Superintendent Dr. Cunningham.

Educators were selected by their schools for outstanding commitment to education, equity, and community leadership. They represent grade levels from elementary through high school and teach in a variety of subject areas including math, language arts, science, STEM, and social studies. The following educators were awarded:

Halifax County Schools 2022-2023 Principal of the Year

Lykisa McCoy- Southeast Collegiate Prep Academy





Halifax County Schools 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year Nine Lee- Pittman Elementary Leadership Academy



Halifax County Schools 2022-2023 CTE Teacher of the Year Angela Richardson- William R. Davie Middle STEM Academy





Halifax County Schools 2022-2023 Beginning Teacher of the Year Stephania Duran - Aurelian Springs Institute of Global Learning



Teachers of The Year (Left to Right):

Ronny Osorio- Southeast Collegiate Prep Academy Schquetta Hawkins- Northwest Collegiate and Technical Academy Connie Wheeler- Aurelian Springs Institute of Global Learning Alethea Jones-Fobbs- Scotland Neck Elementary Leadership Academy Nina Lee- Pittman Elementary Leadership Academy Donetta Cherry- Enfield Middle STEAM Academy Heather Forte- Halifax County Early College Kendra Jones- William R. Davie Middle STEM Academy Subena Baker- Everetts Elementary STEM Academy Dwayne Johnson- Inborden Elementary STEAM Academy Brittney Ruffin- Hollister Elementary Leadership Academy (Not Pictured)





Beginning Teachers of The Year (Left to Right):

Sandra Dedeaux- Everetts Elementary Leadership Academy La'Nautica Hardy- Enfield Middle STEAM Academy Stephanie Duran- Aurelian Springs Institute of Global Learning



Hollister Elementary Teacher of the Year Brittney Ruffin

